Music of Mandeure

We have just hit the halfway point of our trip and time is moving by quickly.  Today was exciting to say the least! Dianne found a coin bearing the image of Antoninus Pious during his fourth consulship around 146 to 161 C.E.  Andrew uncovered a strange bone, Brooke found a large nail, and I discovered a fragmented ceramic pot of some sort.  Though the sun was blazing, we had frequent visits from curious onlookers and touring groups interested in our work and progress.  I took our work time as a chance to sharpen my French vocabulary and pronunciation with two of our French colleagues, Clothilde and Jade.  As we carefully uncovered the remains of the “skene,” the area where the Romans placed props and backdrops during ritualistic functions, we had the opportunity to chat about French culture.  I adore music, so Clothilde and Jade introduced me to French music from the 1940s.  These, they insisted, were classic songs that every French person knows of.  The foremost artist they introduced me to was Edythe Pyaf, whose sonorous voice blew me away as she wove songs of life and love.  Though clearly distinct from the songs I was used to in the United States, these songs had a similar tone and rhythm to those I knew from home.  It was amazing to see and hear how similar and different our cultures were at the same time.  I look forward to learning more in the coming week!

Leave a comment